Ruger SR 9C reassembly question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

rc1988

Bearcat
Hey guys, I am brand new to the Ruger SR platform. Picked up an SR 9C which I have really been enjoying. I field stripped it cleaned it,and lubed it. Just a quick question when it comes to reassembly. I had the pistol completely reassembled, I released the slide lock and let the slide go in to battery, however, I did forget to move the ejector up. Could I have caused any damage by doing this? Thank you!

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
It is possible to damage it, but not likely. If you can dry fire with a empty mag in the well then you're probably ok. You might want to run a few rounds just to make sure they eject properly. Just don't do that again. :)

MountainWalker

Single-Sixer
GunnyGene said:
It is possible to damage it, but not likely. If you can dry fire with a empty mag in the well then you're probably ok. You might want to run a few rounds just to make sure they eject properly. Just don't do that again. :)
Check warning in your manual. Dry firing without a magazine will damage the striker and magazine disconnect if the magazine disconnect is still installed. Best solution is to remove the magazine disconnect permanently. Without the magazine disconnect the SR9c will function like a normal pistol(Glock or Colt 45, for example). Now the pistol will fire with magazine removed and dry firing will not hurt the pistol. Take a look at this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8dHXND_9-bE

MountainWalker

Single-Sixer
rc1988 said:
Hey guys, I am brand new to the Ruger SR platform. Picked up an SR 9C which I have really been enjoying. I field stripped it cleaned it,and lubed it. Just a quick question when it comes to reassembly. I had the pistol completely reassembled, I released the slide lock and let the slide go in to battery, however, I did forget to move the ejector up. Could I have caused any damage by doing this? Thank you!