LC9s Cant hit the broad side of a Barn

Help Support Ruger Forum:

jlutz11

Bearcat
Hey everyone,

this is my first post. I recently bought a Ruger LC9s that I intend to use for concealed carry. I went to the range for the first time today and shot off 100 rounds, and I'm embarrassed to say that I cannot hit the broad side of a barn.

A little background.... I have been in the military and yearly we were required to certify on the M9. I earned the expert marksmanship ribbon a couple different times, so I am not a total noob with firearms.

However, it has been at least 8 years since I have really practiced with a gun. I think I have only fired a gun twice in the last 8 years.

I have heard that the LC9s has issues with shooting low, and I certainly experienced that today, but I also had problems with even being able to group my shots in the same general area. It felt like even though I was using the gun sights, I had no idea where I was shooting.

has anyone experienced this with this gun?

This is the first time I have shot with a gun this small, is there something about shooting with a small gun that is different than shooting with a full sized hand gun? I realize I'm out of practice, but I didn't have this much trouble the last two times I shot a gun over the last few years. Both times it was a full size gun, I think a 9mm and a .45.

I was only shooting from 7 yards, so I feel like I shouldn't be having this much difficulty.

any suggestions??

woodsy

Blackhawk
I will postulate that the fault is entirely with your unfamiliarity with a very-small frame semi-auto. My LC9s Pro shoots right at POA at 25 feet, and slightly low at 75 feet. Try concentrating on a firm grip of the pistol, to avoid "limp-wristing". Either that, or the effect of flinching is magnified by the smaller frame. I can keep all my shots within a 3 inch diameter circle at 25 feet.

jlutz11

Bearcat
thanks for the reply, I'm sure you are right.

what exactly is "limp-wristing"?

tonkota

Bearcat