Ruger American .45ACP

Help Support Ruger Forum:

jasper661

Bearcat
I just bought a Ruger American in .45ACP. With the intent of shooting cast bullet reloads. I have a couple of bullets/molds, that I have been using in my 1911 pattern guns for the last 50 years, with great success. My favourite is the Hensley and Gibbs #68 a 200 gr. SWC. A long time favourite among .45ACP shooters.

I cannot get that bullet to feed in the American. I get "stove pipes" some times, sometimes the round starts into the chamber, and then jams at about a 45 deg. angle with the rim still in the magazine, I have even had it feed the empty case back into the magazine. I have tried different powder charges, sized the bullets .452 and .451, all to no avail. My alloy is quite hard #2+.

Since I reload for all of my handguns I do not have a large quantity of "store bought" ammo. But what I have used seems to function in the American, I have had a couple instances of shooting about halfway through a magazine and having the slide lock back.

My question is, has anyone loaded cast bullets for the American .45, and if so what worked for you.

As a point of interest, I have had some success loading a Lee bullet for the .45 Colt, it is the 255 grn. RNFP bullet. I would really like to get something in the 200 grain range to work.

Thanks..j

FergusonTO35

Hunter
Hey there. I don't have any advice for you other than you should ask this question at the Cast Boolits forum. I'm sure they will get it straightened out fast. I'm a member there under the same name.

castboolits.gunloads.com

jasper661

Bearcat
I belong to that forum as well, I just thought that someone here might have had the same difficulty with their American .45.

Thanks..j

41-44-45-48

Single-Sixer