Ruger SR9 Issue

Help Support Ruger Forum:

Morpheus1967

Bearcat
Hello all. New member here, first post. I have an issue (I think) with my SR9. Let me preface this by saying I am very new to the hand gun world. I bought this for home protection. I have been to the range 3 or 4 times with an experienced shooter, who has been helping me along. Anyways, my issue.

I went to the range this morning. Tonight, I broke down my SR9 to clean it. When I put it back together, I noticed there was "play" between the barrel and the grip. In so much that when I hold it up, I can see through the gun where the barrel meets the grip. I have attached two photos to kind of show what I am talking about.

I have taken this weapon apart many times in the past to clean it, and I honestly do not recall there being this much play. In the second picture, you can see where my wife has pressed the barrel and the grip together.

So is this normal? Did I do something incorrectly? Or do I have an issue? Thanks for any insight.

Bad2.jpg
[/URL][/img]

Bad.jpg
[/URL][/img]

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
If it cycles correctly, then you don't have a problem. Many polymer frame guns have that same gap. It's to allow the barrel to cool evenly and provide some necessary clearance when things get hot and expand. Your gap looks the same as mine.

Welcome to the forum. :D

Morpheus1967

Bearcat
Sorry to sound like such a newb. What do you mean by "cycling correctly"? And thanks for the reply. Much appreciated!

22/45 Fan

Hunter
You didn't do anything wrong. That gap is very normal and common on most polymer framed pistols. As GuynnyGene explained it allows for heat expansion differences between the frame and slide. My SR9C has the same gap as did a couple of Glocks I owned in the past.

Morpheus1967

Bearcat
Thanks guys. Really appreciate the input and expertise. Just surprised I never noticed it before.

GunnyGene

Hawkeye
Morpheus1967 said: