Ruger LC9S, first day at the range

Help Support Ruger Forum:

lc9s86

Bearcat
Hi all, I'm a newbie here and I'm sure there are other threads identical to mine, but I took my Ruger LC9S to the range today, first time since I purchased it new a little over 2 weeks ago.

I was extremely impressed, shooting relatively tight groups at 20 and 30 feet. I fired a total of 132 rounds (one magazine of my carry ammo, the rest my target ammo). Only malfunction was a failure to feed which ended up stovepiping. Removed the round and it performed flawlessly the remainder of the shoot. Snappy little gun but that's to be expected. Wonderful trigger as well. Overall I am very very pleased and can't wait to take it out again.

CoyoteHunter_

Bearcat
I have the LC9S Pro model and want to give you a heads up about one type of ammo. The Hornady Critical Duty 147 gr Flexloc type 9 mm +P ammo has a tendency to jam up in this little gun. Maybe it's just my gun but I've noticed that while manually racking the slide with one in the chamber and a full mag that the top round in the mag has a tendency to fail to feed. The nose on the bullet (flexloc) has a tendency to nose down and hit the feed ramp and jam up.

Other ammo that I've used (Blazer Brass 115 gr FMJ 9 mm) works flawlessly in this little Ruger 9mm LC9S Pro semi auto matic pistol.

The gun's trigger is excellent and I can shoot this gun very well. I shoot it at 17" large Shoot NC type targets at a range and at 25 yards away. The range I go to does not have a shorter range to shoot pistols at. Only the 25 yard ranges is useful to shoot pistols. The other ranges are 50 yard, 100 yard and 200 yards.