Ruger 8639 safety, did I make a mistake?

Help Support Ruger Forum:

johnny248

Bearcat
Hello

I am brand new to the Ruger forums. This is the first Ruger firearm I have purchased.

I really wanted to purchase a Ruger American 8635 Compact Pro model and was anxious to buy one today. It seems that any of the shops around me only carry the 8639 model with the manual safety. I didn't want to wait , and decides to purchase it anyway.

When they processed the purchase, it came back on "delay" from the state (I've never had this happen before) and the shop told me that it's common, and generally I would receive a call in the next day or two with the ok to pick up the gun . Worst case I could pick it up 12/6. So I paid the entire process less 1 penny , technically putting it in lay-a-way until I get the ok and pay the last penny to complete the transfer.

I'm now questioning what I did. I really didn't want the safety model. This is where my question comes. Is it possible to remove the manual safety? Since I've never been in this purchase situation before, I wasn't sure if I could cancel the lay-a-way and have them order and purchase the 8635 model that I really wanted? Is that something that would normally be possible to do? I don't know now lay-a-way works, and once the purchase approval comes back ok from the state, am I committed to this serial number? Or could I back out and resubmit the purchase on the new serial number and model pistol? I'm sure they would have to resubmit the purchase with the new pistol and I may have to wait again, but I'm not an expert in this area.

So to sum it up, did I make the wrong decision by making an impulse purchase on the model with the manual safety None of my other pistols have manual safeties. Should I attempt to get the non-safety model that I really wanted? Or just keep the manual safety once it's approved to pick up.

Thanks for your help and suggestions.

roylt

Hunter