Recoil Differences

Help Support Ruger Forum:

2y4life

Bearcat
Hello fellow Ruger family,

I am completely new to guns and did not own nor shoot a gun until two weeks ago. I have gone to the range twice over the last 2 weeks (tonight and last Friday) and have gone through just over 600 rounds. I am reading, handling, learning, and watching as many videos as I can to be more comfortable, proficient, and safe with using pistols.

With that said, it was because of the birth of my daughter that spurned the desire to have a semi-auto and to learn how to use guns.

Long story short, I have an SR40c which is my home defense gun and an SR22 which I bought at the same time to use to become a better shot not to mention 22s are cheap. I did forget one thing and that is a carry piece and that leads to my question.

I would like to stay in the Ruger family since it is all I have known outside of handling a few other guns (Kimber, Glocks, S&W, and SS). I am interested in getting the LC9s as my ccw and maybe the LCP for my lady. My question is how does the recoil of the LC9s compare to the SR40c and the SR22 and how does the LCP compare to the LC9s and the SR40c/SR22? I know the 9 is a smaller caliber round but being that the LC9s is so small and light, the laws of physics must apply here and the energy must go somewhere and I am assume it is going to go into my palm. If someone has experience owning or shooting all three guns, please let me know your thoughts.

Thank you again

Tou

Yawn

Blackhawk
Hey Tou,

Welcome to the forum and the world of responsible self-defense!! My daughter just turned two... Changes how you see the world!

The LCP can be described as snappy. The perceived recoil will most likely be greater (I say most likely as it is perception) than your SR40c and definitely greater than your SR22. Very few people will put a lot of rounds through one... Just enough to stay proficient with it.