Reloading for the SR9

Help Support Ruger Forum:

I've handloaded 38/357, 44mag and 45ACP for 40 years but I'm a rank newbie with the 9mm cartridge and any platform other than a 1911.

I concocted my first-ever 2 recipes and went to the range with my brand new SR9. I loaded both mags with the Remington factory 115RN and put all 20 into 2.5" @ 50 feet ... without a hiccup. Off to a good start. BTW, it chronoed at 1048 fps.

With a new gun and my very first handloads I was prepared to deal with jams...likely failure to feed due to incorrect OAL, or maybe stovepipes from a sluggish slide.

My first handload was 6.0 grains of AA5 under a Missouri 115RN, HiTek coated ... 10 rds w/o a hiccup and 1028 fps. This is going to be easy. 8)

Loaded 10 of my second recipe of 4.8 grains of Bullseye and the 3rd round failed to eject. The slide locked open with the empty half out of the chamber and a live one trying to lift it up. I don't think I've ever seen that malfunction. My first thought was "uh-oh...too hot...big time sticking in the chamber". But when I dropped the mag, I could EASILY pluck the empty with my fingernail. The primers looked fine and each time the FTE occurred...6 in 20.., I could EASILY pluck the empty. The load chronoed 1130 fps....warmer than the other 2, but not really hot I'm thinking.

The mystery got more complicated when I tried 10 more of the AA5 recipe and had one of the same FTE's. :cry:
As I said, I've never seen this particular malfunction with any .45ACP in a 1911, and I can't grasp how/why it's occurring ... the extractor is riding over, but then the empty will almost drop out. Whassup?

lonewolf5347

Single-Sixer
I also had some problems with FTE with my reloads on the other hand factory ammo never had a problem.I think I did find out why the slide failed to extract the fired round seem range brass needs to be Mic: after full length resized I did find some brass is quite short of factory spec: