LC9s Magazine question

Help Support Ruger Forum:

FelixD

Bearcat
I have a new LC9s that I shot for the first time today and it is a great advancement over the DA model. But, none of the six magazines I own will drop free from the pistol. Has anyone else experienced this? Suggestions to correct the problem are welcome.

OldePhart

Blackhawk
Hmmm, that's one problem I haven't had with mine. Sounds like a gun issue since it's all magazines (are they Ruger mags?). Maybe Ruger over corrected for the problems with USA mags dropping under recoil?

FelixD

Bearcat
I just tried the magazines again and they all drop free. Yesterday it was about 35 degrees and wet. Snow was melting and fog was in the air. The gun was shot with and without gloves and I never observed the problem when I started shooting. I saw it at the end of the session. The gun was exposed to the elements for about 90 minutes. I am going to presume it was something I did and its not the gun. I'll rack this up to cold hands for now.

OldePhart

Blackhawk
Actually, under those conditions I wouldn't consider that too awfully unusual, then. Shooting that much and in those elements you probably got a fair amount of fouling in the weapon and then cold, wet weather could make it kind of sticky.

FelixD

Bearcat
Actually, I need to recant my last message. With the gun, mags and my hand at room temperature, the slide locked to the rear, empty magazines will drop free only if the pistol is held completely vertical. Any slight degree off vertical and the magazine will drop about one inch and then stick in the mag well. With the slide forward magazines will usually, but not always, drop free even with the pistol at some degree (0 - 40) past vertical. I have six magazines, 5 Italian and 1 US. One Italian magazine seems more prone to sticking than the rest. By comparison, my DAO LC9 drops everything, at every angle, every time no matter the slide position.