LC9S and Williams Fire Fiber Optic Sights

Help Support Ruger Forum:

mrasgt

Bearcat
Hello Everyone:

I've had my LC9S for three months now. I traded my LC9 in for it.
I ordered the Williams Fire Fiber Optic Sights from ShopRuger.com
I was very pleased to receive the sights from Ruger in five days via
UPS. Total to my door $57.95.

I've never tried replacing sights before and I don't have a sight tool.
I thought you might like to hear what happened next. It was a learning experience.

On the S model, the front sight is pinned. On the LC model it is not.
I was able to use a role pin punch and easily drive the pin from the front sight
and drift the Williams sight in. There is no hole for the roll pin from the original sight to replace on the Williams sight. I used a tape covered punch and was able to get the sight in with just a very small mark left on the sight base.

Then I moved to the rear sight. On both LC and S models there is a hex head screw
securing the original sight in place. On my S model, the original sight came sliding off after a turn on the screw.

The Williams rear sight had to be filed to even begin drifting it into place.
This time, I didn't want any marks left on the sight base. So, off I go to my LGS
hoping for an easier time of installing the rear sight.

The instructions on the sight packaging clearly advise to have the sights installed by a professional.

My LGS has about ten different rear sight tools at hand. None of them would work
on the LC9S slide.

So, a bit of oil, and a BRASS punch and in the sight went, nice and tight.

The rear sight ended up with a slight "ding" from being drifted in by the brass punch.

I suggested a nylon punch, neither of us had one.

The sights came out great. What a difference. A very good product and fit.

Here is what I learned. If you are a perfectionist, find someone with a correct
sight tool and lightly file and slowly PRESS the sights in. This should avoid any marring of the sight bases.