New Dillon XL50 Press For Father's Day

Help Support Ruger Forum:

loaded round

Hunter
My two boys have decided to give me a new Dillon XL650 for Father's Day with all the bells and whistles including the case feeder. It will be set up for both 9mm and .223 (5.56) rounds that seem to be 85-90% of the ammo we shoot these days. At this point, I do run two Dillon 550B's, each set up for large and small primers respectfully and I do have Dillon Dies in 12 different calibers. I have all other necessary equipment since I've been reloading for over 50 years. My only question(s) would be as follows; any after market (non Dillon) accessories recommended for my new XL650? Never paid much attention to the market after being contented with my two 550B's. Think my sons are after my 550B"s? Thanks guys and an early Happy Fathers Day to you all! :)

contender

Ruger Guru
I have a pair of 650's, a 550 & a SDB. I my 650's set up for small & large primers.

Accessories;
I STRONGLY recommend adding the light kit from KMS Squared. I got one & promptly ordered more for my other Dillons except my SDB as they don't make one due to the design of the SDB. Look them up at kmssquared dot com. Buy one complete kit,, with the power adapter,, and just buy the lights for the others & swap around the power adapter when changing machines. I did a post on them a while pack on here.

Next,, I'm fast becoming a fan of my newest accessory,, a replacement drop tube assy for my spent primers. Remove the factory pieces from the bottom, screw on the new adapter, slip on the clear tube, and put the other end into a bottle etc. ALL of the spent primers end up in the bottle. I know you don't have many spent primers jump out & about,, but I do not like them in my floor & as such,, they minor change is NICE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

loaded round

Hunter
Contender: