RugerForum.com

This is a Ruger Firearms enthusiast's forum, but it is in no way affiliated with, nor does it represent Sturm Ruger & Company Inc. of Southport, CT.
It is currently Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:22 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Range question
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 9:24 am 
Hawkeye
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2004 2:01 am
Posts: 6159
Location: Southern New England
blume357 wrote:

when we went to buy one at the store they informed us that now all these gas ranges have a safety feature and the burners will not light if the power is off.

The guy at the store did hint that I could go on line and probably find a youtube video showing how to defeat this safety feature but we decided to keep what we had.





FYI:

To turn the Cooktop Lockout Feature OFF:

1. Be sure all gas surface burner controls are set to the OFF position.

2. Press & hold the key that has a picture of a light bulb on it until one beep is heard (after 3-4 seconds).

The Cooktop Locked indicator light will turn OFF and the gas surface burners may be used normally.




.

_________________
Experience is a wonderful thing - It lets you recognize a mistake, when you make it again.

Men tracht und Gott lacht - (Man plans, God laughs)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Range question
PostPosted: Sun Oct 06, 2019 11:33 am 
Hawkeye

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 17855
Location: Kentucky
Ours is like two years old right now, and you can light the gas burners "manually" if the electricity is off. We made sure of that when we bought it. Just a side benefit of a gas range out in the boonies. Yeah, no oven during outages, but you can live without an oven.

When we had the old all-electric range we more than once fired up the camp stove to cook supper. :wink:

Now, if we could just find a gas microwave. :shock:

Yeah, I know . . . generator.

_________________
I^3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Range question
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:40 am 
Hunter

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:01 am
Posts: 3691
Location: Jacksonville, Maryland
A quick follow up, we got the stove with the round middle burner. The new stove really puts out a big flame. I boiled some water in record time. And I was even watching. :) Besides the old oven not working, the flames had gotten really small. I couldn’t figure that out. Fridgidare from Lowe’s. Got a nice sale, $100 off for opening a Lowe’s card & 5% off that.
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Range question
PostPosted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 10:47 am 
Hawkeye

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 3:17 pm
Posts: 17855
Location: Kentucky
Good-lookin' rig. Those top grates look quite sturdy!

:mrgreen:

_________________
I^3


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group